THROUGH-THE-WALL AIR CONDITIONER FINDER

Find your wall AC.
Get the fit right.

Choose a through-the-wall air conditioner for your room, power supply and installation. Compare documented models from Friedrich, LG and GE.

Specifications with sources · Unknowns shown clearly

An illustrative apartment living room with a through-the-wall air conditioner below the window, a linen sofa, and warm afternoon light.
Choose for your room.

Check the power, sleeve and features.

Illustrative interior, not a specific product or installation.

33 reviewed model profiles

Friedrich: 12 · GE: 10 · LG: 11

8 documented sleeve identities

START WITH YOUR BUYING QUESTION

Choose by the requirement.

Each guide explains one decision and shows an automatically updated catalog shortlist.

Choosing a through-the-wall AC for a new installation

Choose the AC, its specified sleeve and installation package before deciding on the wall opening.

23 profiles with criteria documented · Read the guide →

How to replace a through-the-wall AC and keep the sleeve

Identify the existing housing, find documented replacements and check the power and grille before ordering.

8 sleeve identities · Read the guide →

115-volt through-the-wall air conditioners: what to check

Compare documented 115 V models, cooling capacities and outlet requirements before choosing a wall AC.

14 profiles with criteria documented · Read the guide →

230-volt through-the-wall air conditioners with electric heat

Compare 230 V electric-heat profiles and check heating output, power and sleeve requirements.

8 profiles with criteria documented · Read the guide →

Inverter through-the-wall air conditioners: documented options

Find models with a documented inverter compressor and compare their installation and power requirements.

12 profiles with criteria documented · Read the guide →

Choosing a through-the-wall AC for a small bedroom

Compare the room-chart estimate with the smallest documented wall ACs and understand oversizing checks.

2 profiles need checking · Read the guide →

Through-the-wall air conditioners with a heat pump

Compare documented room wall-AC heat-pump models and check backup heat, power and installation limits.

3 profiles with criteria documented · Read the guide →

Choosing a quiet through-the-wall AC for a bedroom

Use documented indoor-noise figures carefully, with fan modes, sizing and installation checks.

9 profiles with criteria documented · Read the guide →

EXPLORE THE MODEL LIBRARY

Meet the models.

All 33 model profiles →
Reviewed model profileFriedrich

WCVT12B10B

Nominal supply
115 V
Nominal cooling rating
13,500 BTU/h
Heating
Cooling only
Plug
NEMA 5-15P
Specified circuit / fuse
15 A
CEER (nominal rating)
13.2
Inverter documentedWi-Fi documented

Installation: Friedrich WSE · follow listed conditions

What matches (1)
  • Documented sleeve option: Friedrich WSE. Installation conditions apply.
Checks before purchase (5)
  • Confirm the actual supply voltage.
  • Compare the actual circuit with the exact manufacturer circuit/fuse requirement.
  • Exact plug/receptacle configuration needs confirmation.
  • Room estimate or model capacity at the selected voltage needs checking.
  • Enter 100–2,500 sq ft for the ENERGY STAR chart. Other room sizes need an individual sizing assessment.
Sleeves, required parts and sources

Friedrich WSE

Manufacturer sleeve association; listed conditions apply.

External condensate drain kit (DK) · Optional or conditional · Package inclusion not established

  • Confirm an actual WSE sleeve in serviceable condition. The exact B-suffix model appears in the brochure's installation table, whose note requires a WSE sleeve; dimensions alone are not the evidence for this relation.
  • Verify the rear grille against the manufacturer installation requirements. Incorrect airflow can recirculate discharge air and cause shutdown; do not assume an old grille is suitable.
  • Check the actual installation for this 115 V model, NEMA 5-15P plug and manufacturer-specified 15 A circuit/fuse. Cooling running current is a separate specification.
  • DK is an optional external drain kit when connection to a condensate disposal system is necessary or desired. It is not a general requirement for every WSE replacement.

Evidence for this model and installation

2026 WallMaster inverter / R-32, final B suffix (BR_WM_REV 07-15-25)

Manufacturer specifications ↗
Reviewed model profileFriedrich

UCT08B10A

Nominal supply
115 V
Nominal cooling rating
8,000 BTU/h
Heating
Cooling only
Plug
NEMA 5-15P
Specified circuit / fuse
15 A
CEER (nominal rating)
10.1
Wi-Fi documented

Installation: Friedrich USC · required kit included

Kit inclusion refers to the listed installation parts. Confirm sleeve supply separately.

What matches (1)
  • Documented sleeve option: Friedrich USC. Installation conditions apply.
Checks before purchase (5)
  • Confirm the actual supply voltage.
  • Compare the actual circuit with the exact manufacturer circuit/fuse requirement.
  • Exact plug/receptacle configuration needs confirmation.
  • Room estimate or model capacity at the selected voltage needs checking.
  • Enter 100–2,500 sq ft for the ENERGY STAR chart. Other room sizes need an individual sizing assessment.
Sleeves, required parts and sources

Friedrich USC

Manufacturer sleeve association; listed conditions apply.

Decorative trim ring supplied with chassis · Required for the listed procedure · Included as reported in source

Provided installation kit: specified grille, seals and centering/grounding materials · Required for the listed procedure · Included as reported in source

  • The 2026 exact-series brochure requires USC/USEZ for new installations; sleeve is sold separately.
  • Follow the recommended USC procedure on printed pages 14–15: use the specified dual-intake grille, seals, centering materials and grounding wire. Remove weather panels before operation. Maintain the prescribed 3/8-inch downward slope from front to back. Optional architectural louver UXAA is sold separately and is not the supplied kit SKU.
  • Match actual unit nameplate and grounded supply to the electrical table; capacity must also suit the room.

Friedrich USEZ

Sleeve decision needs review.

Sources disagree on a fit-critical fact. This option cannot be a confirmed fit.

Decorative trim ring supplied with chassis · Required for the listed procedure · Included as reported in source

  • The 2026 exact-series brochure requires USC/USEZ for new installations; sleeve is sold separately.
  • Use included trim ring and applicable sealing/grille components according to the exact R-32 manual. Remove weather panels before operation.
  • Match actual unit nameplate and grounded supply to the electrical table; capacity must also suit the room.

Evidence for this model and installation

UCT/UET B-series, final A suffix, R-32; specifications scoped to the 2026 brochure revision 02-19-25

Manufacturer specifications ↗
Reviewed model profileLG

LT0816CER

Nominal supply
115 V
Nominal cooling rating
8,000 BTU/h
Heating
Cooling only
Plug
NEMA 5-15P
Specified circuit / fuse
15 A
CEER (nominal rating)
10.6

Reported indoor noise: 56 dBA (Manufacturer rating; fan speed and test conditions not stated). Test conditions vary by source.

Checks before purchase (6)
  • No positive manufacturer sleeve decision is available under these answers.
  • Confirm the actual supply voltage.
  • Compare the actual circuit with the exact manufacturer circuit/fuse requirement.
  • Exact plug/receptacle configuration needs confirmation.
  • Room estimate or model capacity at the selected voltage needs checking.
  • Enter 100–2,500 sq ft for the ENERGY STAR chart. Other room sizes need an individual sizing assessment.
Sleeves, required parts and sources

LG AXSVA1

Sleeve decision needs review.

Provided installation hardware; apply exact sleeve procedure · Required for the listed procedure · Included as reported in source

  • The current exact-model sheet does not name AXSVA1/AXSVA4. The associated manual describes an LGE sleeve and Procedure A. This generic description and matching dimensions do not establish this exact part/model relation.
  • The model-associated manual supplies grille/insulation/shims/trim and describes LGE Procedure A. Follow the exact sleeve procedure and rearward slope; this is not independent evidence identifying this sleeve SKU.

LG AXSVA4

Sleeve decision needs review.

Provided installation hardware; apply exact sleeve procedure · Required for the listed procedure · Included as reported in source

  • The current exact-model sheet does not name AXSVA1/AXSVA4. The associated manual describes an LGE sleeve and Procedure A. This generic description and matching dimensions do not establish this exact part/model relation.
  • The model-associated manual supplies grille/insulation/shims/trim and describes LGE Procedure A. Follow the exact sleeve procedure and rearward slope; this is not independent evidence identifying this sleeve SKU.

Evidence for this model and installation

  • LG US wall air conditioner category ↗Eleven LT equipment entries observed in initial category HTML; accessories excluded. Dynamic pagination is not proof of complete coverage. · Checked 2026-10-12
  • LG owner manual — cool ↗Support associations checked 2026-10-12; visually reviewed 2026-10-13. Printed/PDF page 9 explicitly lists LT0816CER, LT1016CER, LT12124CNR (115 V) and LT1036CER, LT1236CER, LT1430CNR (230 V), 15 A circuit and outlet drawings; pages 11–13 packing list and LGE sleeve Procedure A. LT1216CER has a separate exact support manual. · Checked 2026-10-13
  • LG LT0816CER — current product specifications ↗Specifications > Electrical Ratings, Performance, Features and Dimensions/Weight; public page specification data; product modelStatus ACTIVE checked separately from stock. · Checked 2026-10-13
  • LG LT0816CER — exact support/document association ↗Selected support sales suffix and Download Manuals list; suffix is not automatically an alias of another physical generation. · Checked 2026-10-12
  • LG LT0816CER — linked specification sheet ↗Exact SKU specifications, refrigerant and Optional Accessories. Dates differ across PDFs; older electrical/performance tables are not merged into current page values. · Checked 2026-10-12
  • NEMA receptacle configurations — manufacturer reference ↗Printed/PDF page 12: labelled 5-15R, 6-15R and 6-20R face drawings. Used only to identify the matching receptacle drawn in an exact AC manual, never to infer the required breaker. · Checked 2026-10-13

Reviewed marketed SKU and UPC 048231379601; selected support LT0816CER.AT1AUSB. Base model is not an alias of every historical sales suffix.

Manufacturer specifications ↗
Reviewed model profileLG

LT1016CER

Nominal supply
115 V
Nominal cooling rating
9,800 BTU/h
Heating
Cooling only
Plug
NEMA 5-15P
Specified circuit / fuse
15 A
CEER (nominal rating)
10.6

Installation: LG AXSVA1 · required kit included; LG AXSVA4 · required kit included

Kit inclusion refers to the listed installation parts. Confirm sleeve supply separately.

Reported indoor noise: 56 dBA (Manufacturer rating; fan speed and test conditions not stated). Test conditions vary by source.

What matches (1)
  • Documented sleeve option: LG AXSVA1, LG AXSVA4. Installation conditions apply.
Checks before purchase (5)
  • Confirm the actual supply voltage.
  • Compare the actual circuit with the exact manufacturer circuit/fuse requirement.
  • Exact plug/receptacle configuration needs confirmation.
  • Room estimate or model capacity at the selected voltage needs checking.
  • Enter 100–2,500 sq ft for the ENERGY STAR chart. Other room sizes need an individual sizing assessment.
Sleeves, required parts and sources

LG AXSVA1

Manufacturer sleeve association; listed conditions apply.

Supplied installation parts: grille, applicable insulation, shims and trim; sleeve sold separately · Required for the listed procedure · Included as reported in source

  • The current exact-UPC manufacturer sheet lists this sleeve as a separately sold optional accessory. Check the exact housing and model nameplate.
  • Follow LGE sleeve Procedure A, including serviceable rear flange/grille, specified rearward slope, applicable supplied seals/shims and trim; sleeve is secured to the wall.
  • 115 V model: use the documented 15 A circuit and matching grounded 5-15 plug/receptacle. Do not assume the existing outlet or circuit from the old unit.

LG AXSVA4

Manufacturer sleeve association; listed conditions apply.

Supplied installation parts: grille, applicable insulation, shims and trim; sleeve sold separately · Required for the listed procedure · Included as reported in source

  • The current exact-UPC manufacturer sheet lists this sleeve as a separately sold optional accessory. Check the exact housing and model nameplate.
  • Follow LGE sleeve Procedure A, including serviceable rear flange/grille, specified rearward slope, applicable supplied seals/shims and trim; sleeve is secured to the wall.
  • 115 V model: use the documented 15 A circuit and matching grounded 5-15 plug/receptacle. Do not assume the existing outlet or circuit from the old unit.

Evidence for this model and installation

  • LG US wall air conditioner category ↗Eleven LT equipment entries observed in initial category HTML; accessories excluded. Dynamic pagination is not proof of complete coverage. · Checked 2026-10-12
  • LG owner manual — cool ↗Support associations checked 2026-10-12; visually reviewed 2026-10-13. Printed/PDF page 9 explicitly lists LT0816CER, LT1016CER, LT12124CNR (115 V) and LT1036CER, LT1236CER, LT1430CNR (230 V), 15 A circuit and outlet drawings; pages 11–13 packing list and LGE sleeve Procedure A. LT1216CER has a separate exact support manual. · Checked 2026-10-13
  • LG LT1016CER — current product specifications ↗Specifications > Electrical Ratings, Performance, Features and Dimensions/Weight; public page specification data; product modelStatus ACTIVE checked separately from stock. · Checked 2026-10-13
  • LG LT1016CER — exact support/document association ↗Selected support sales suffix and Download Manuals list; suffix is not automatically an alias of another physical generation. · Checked 2026-10-12
  • LG LT1016CER — linked specification sheet ↗Exact SKU specifications, refrigerant and Optional Accessories. Dates differ across PDFs; older electrical/performance tables are not merged into current page values. · Checked 2026-10-12
  • NEMA receptacle configurations — manufacturer reference ↗Printed/PDF page 12: labelled 5-15R, 6-15R and 6-20R face drawings. Used only to identify the matching receptacle drawn in an exact AC manual, never to infer the required breaker. · Checked 2026-10-13

Reviewed marketed SKU and UPC 048231379618; selected support LT1016CER.AT1AUSL. Base model is not an alias of every historical sales suffix.

Manufacturer specifications ↗
Reviewed model profileGE

AJVQ12DCXWA

Nominal supply
230 V
Nominal cooling rating
12,000 BTU/h
Heating
Heat pump with electric backup
Plug
Not established
Specified circuit / fuse
Not established
CEER (nominal rating)
9.5
Inverter documentedWi-Fi documented

Installation: GE RAB26A · required kit included; GE RAB46B · required kit included

Kit inclusion refers to the listed installation parts. Confirm sleeve supply separately.

What matches (1)
  • Documented sleeve option: GE RAB26A, GE RAB46B. Installation conditions apply.
Verify circuit rating, plug, outlet
Why these facts need checking
  • Required circuit / fuse rating is not established in the reviewed documentation. Check the exact unit nameplate or ask GE to confirm it before purchase.
  • Exact plug configuration is not established in the reviewed documentation. Check the exact unit nameplate or ask GE to confirm it before purchase.
  • Required receptacle is not established in the reviewed documentation. Check the exact unit nameplate or ask GE to confirm it before purchase.
Checks before purchase (5)
  • Confirm the actual supply voltage.
  • The manufacturer circuit/fuse rating is not established. Check the exact unit nameplate or ask GE to confirm it before purchase; your circuit answer cannot fill this gap.
  • Exact plug/receptacle configuration needs confirmation.
  • Room estimate or model capacity at the selected voltage needs checking.
  • Enter 100–2,500 sq ft for the ENERGY STAR chart. Other room sizes need an individual sizing assessment.
Sleeves, required parts and sources

GE RAB26A

Manufacturer sleeve association; listed conditions apply.

Supplied security bracket and screws · Required for the listed procedure · Included as reported in source

  • The exact-model manual recommends RAB26A with the RAG13A rear grille. Use the full sleeve/chassis instructions.
  • Confirm specified rear grille and airflow. A retained louvered grille must follow the 45-degree instruction; do not substitute a grille by dimensions.
  • Install the supplied security bracket with its flange behind the sleeve edge, as specified on printed page 16.
  • Confirm exact unit nameplate, grounded outlet and circuit; remaining unknown electrical fields must be resolved before recommendation.
  • For a new installation the sleeve is purchased separately from the chassis.
  • For heat-capable models, apply all page-16 combustible-material clearances: sides 1 in, front and exterior rear 20 in, above 39-3/8 in, below as the manual’s 4-7/8–6-3/8 in range. Resolve the applicable bottom clearance for the actual installation; do not select an endpoint as a general rule.

GE RAB46B

Manufacturer sleeve association; listed conditions apply.

Supplied security bracket and screws · Required for the listed procedure · Included as reported in source

  • The exact-model manual recommends RAB46B with the RAG13A rear grille. Use the full sleeve/chassis instructions.
  • Confirm specified rear grille and airflow. A retained louvered grille must follow the 45-degree instruction; do not substitute a grille by dimensions.
  • Install the supplied security bracket with its flange behind the sleeve edge, as specified on printed page 16.
  • Confirm exact unit nameplate, grounded outlet and circuit; remaining unknown electrical fields must be resolved before recommendation.
  • For a new installation the sleeve is purchased separately from the chassis.
  • For heat-capable models, apply all page-16 combustible-material clearances: sides 1 in, front and exterior rear 20 in, above 39-3/8 in, below as the manual’s 4-7/8–6-3/8 in range. Resolve the applicable bottom clearance for the actual installation; do not select an endpoint as a general rule.

Evidence for this model and installation

  • GE 26-inch inverter owner and installation manual ↗Cover lists all six exact AJ models and INVERTER. Printed/PDF pages 15–16: RAB26A/RAB46B with RAG13A, depth without front, supplied security bracket, grille and heat-model clearance requirements. No numeric branch-circuit requirement in the final English manual. · Checked 2026-10-13
  • GE AJVQ12DCXWA — manufacturing dates ↗Owner Center > Manufactured start/end dates; a fixed past end date indicates discontinued production, not lack of retailer stock. · Checked 2026-10-13
  • GE AJVQ12DCXWA — exact product specifications ↗Specs & Details: POWER / RATINGS, FEATURES, ACCESSORIES, WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS; only product specification fields retained. Hidden obsolete/out-of-stock template strings are not lifecycle/stock evidence. · Checked 2026-10-13

2025/2026 inverter generation; exact full SKU covered by 49-5001195

Manufacturer specifications ↗
Reviewed model profileGE

AKCQ08AXXXA

Nominal supply
115 V
Nominal cooling rating
7,800 BTU/h
Heating
Cooling only
Plug
NEMA 5-15P
Specified circuit / fuse
Not established
CEER (nominal rating)
9.6
Inverter documented

Installation: GE RAB24 · required kit included

Kit inclusion refers to the listed installation parts. Confirm sleeve supply separately.

What matches (1)
  • Documented sleeve option: GE RAB24. Installation conditions apply.
Verify circuit rating
Why these facts need checking
  • Required circuit / fuse rating is not established in the reviewed documentation. Check the exact unit nameplate or ask GE to confirm it before purchase.
Checks before purchase (5)
  • Confirm the actual supply voltage.
  • The manufacturer circuit/fuse rating is not established. Check the exact unit nameplate or ask GE to confirm it before purchase; your circuit answer cannot fill this gap.
  • Exact plug/receptacle configuration needs confirmation.
  • Room estimate or model capacity at the selected voltage needs checking.
  • Enter 100–2,500 sq ft for the ENERGY STAR chart. Other room sizes need an individual sizing assessment.
Sleeves, required parts and sources

GE RAB24

Manufacturer sleeve association; listed conditions apply.

Supplied grille, seals, trim, grounding wire and 24-inch security brackets; use applicable parts · Required for the listed procedure · Included as reported in source

  • The exact-model manual recommends RAB24 with the supplied stamped aluminum outdoor grille.
  • Use the 24-inch sleeve brackets and the applicable sealing, grounding, grille and trim procedures on printed pages 15–24.
  • Confirm exact nameplate, grounded outlet and circuit; the sleeve association does not prove electrical suitability.
  • RAB24 sleeve is purchased separately; supplied trim/installation hardware is not a wall sleeve.
  • Use the applicable sleeve procedure: secure sound housing, required rearward slope, supplied grounding wire with toothed washers, seals and trim; do not leave required hardware unused.
  • Use the supplied 24-inch brackets for RAB24 or 26-inch brackets for RAB26A, with flanges behind the sleeve edge; attach both sides as specified on page 24.

Evidence for this model and installation

  • GE 24-inch inverter owner and installation manual ↗Cover lists all four exact AK models and INVERTER. Printed/PDF pages 15–19 and 23–24: bare chassis, RAB24/RAB26A, supplied hardware, rearward slope, grounding, GE rear grille, trim and correct 24/26-inch security brackets. RAB26A recommendation spells RAG13 (not RAG13A). No numeric branch-circuit requirement. · Checked 2026-10-13
  • GE AKCQ08AXXXA — manufacturing dates ↗Owner Center > Manufactured start/end dates; a fixed past end date indicates discontinued production, not lack of retailer stock. · Checked 2026-10-13
  • GE AKCQ08AXXXA — exact product specifications ↗Specs & Details: POWER / RATINGS, FEATURES, ACCESSORIES, WEIGHTS & DIMENSIONS; only product specification fields retained. Hidden obsolete/out-of-stock template strings are not lifecycle/stock evidence. · Checked 2026-10-13
  • NEMA receptacle configurations — manufacturer reference ↗Printed/PDF page 12: labelled 5-15R, 6-15R and 6-20R face drawings. Used only to identify the matching receptacle drawn in an exact AC manual, never to infer the required breaker. · Checked 2026-10-13
  • GE AKCQ08AXXXA — conflicting FEATURES EER ↗Specs & Details > FEATURES > EER: 9.6. CAPACITY > Cooling EER in the same page reports 10.6. These are two section citations, not independent documents. · Checked 2026-10-13

2025/2026 inverter generation; exact full SKU covered by 49-5001293

Manufacturer specifications ↗

These are examples from our covered brands, not a best-product ranking. Our catalog does not cover every US model. Listed specifications do not confirm your installation.

SEE WHAT CHANGES1 / 3
Start with the existing unitThe old air conditioner sits inside the sleeve. Identify both before researching a replacement.Existing wall sleeve

Start with the existing unit

The old air conditioner sits inside the sleeve. Identify both before researching a replacement.

REPLACING AN EXISTING UNIT?

Keep the sleeve
when the fit is documented.

The sleeve is the housing in the wall; the AC is the removable unit inside it. Identify the box, then check the exact replacement, rear grille, kit and actual power.

This sequence illustrates the concept. Follow the exact model and sleeve installation instructions.

BEFORE YOU CHOOSE

A few common buying questions.

What size wall AC does my room need?

Start with the ENERGY STAR room-AC estimate, then account for sun, occupants and kitchen use. The finder shows sizing limitations for small rooms and high ceilings. Small-bedroom sizing →

Can I reuse the wall sleeve I already have?

Only a documented model and sleeve combination establishes the physical outcome under its listed conditions. Similar cabinet dimensions alone do not. Retained-sleeve replacement guide →

Is a 115 V unit enough, or do I need 230 V?

Compare the room’s cooling requirement with the models supported by your actual supply. Voltage, plug and circuit protection need separate checks. 115 V buying checks →

What does “More checks needed” mean?

The profile is available for research, but a requirement is unknown, disputed or not yet confirmed for your installation. It is not a purchase recommendation. How we check models →

THE EVIDENCE IS PART OF THE ANSWER

Know what fits and what needs checking.

Read the exact model facts, manufacturer installation conditions and required parts behind each option. We have not physically tested these products.

How we check →